News

Employee Spotlight: Véronique Jonkers

Meet Véronique, our Assistant Manager Finance & HR. This year, she celebrates her 5th anniversary at Wundekraut! 

Wunderkraut logo
Wunderkraut

Veronique and son

Who are you? What's your story?

I'm a single mom, my son is 13 years old and living part-time with me and his father.  I started working as a young girl in the Antwerp Diamond business.

The diamond business is so different from all other businesses. Multicultural as it is, I had the privilege of meeting many different nationalities, I had the chance of visiting other countries and made a lot of friends all over the world.

I was always interested in doing something with numbers and they gave me a chance to do so.  After 25 years I decided to go into another direction and explore my skills somewhere else.

Here I am at Wunderkraut, using that financial experience and other such as working with people/hr assistant.
 

What does a typical work day look like for you and what are you currently working on? 

As Assistant Manager Finance & HR, my typical working day starts with checking my emails, working on the company's cashflow, looking at payments that come in and making sure our suppliers are paid on time. My role also involves controlling the budgets of our projects, answering any questions my colleagues should have HR related, and so on....

Currently I am working on getting out as many sales invoices as possible.  This means pulling out timesheets, checking with the project manager if all is okay and can be invoiced.  The 1st week of every new month is the busiest week of all.
 

What is most rewarding about your job; what makes it all worthwhile? 

The most rewarding thing is receiving a "thank you" from a colleague or even a client. Being and feeling appreciated!  Being able to help where needed and succeed or bring it to a good end.
Having the feeling I did a good job makes it all worthwhile.
 

What is your biggest achievement to date –personal or professional?

My biggest (and still is) achievement on personal level is organising my personal life, my son, and my household in combination with my job.
Professionally, my biggest achievement is to be where I am now, this far, without having any particular education; it makes me very happy.

What do you do outside of work?

I walk a lot with my dog (Golden retriever) and I attend every football match my son plays on weekends. I love to watch movies and be a couch potato.
 

Where do you hope to take your career at this point; what's next for you in your professional career? 

To become better at what I do! What's next for me in my professional career depends on where Wunderkraut is going, I guess.
 

If you could switch your job with anyone else within Wunderkraut, whose job would you want? 

With nobody.
 

How many cups of coffee / tea do you need each day to survive? 

I usually have about 8 cups of coffee a day and in between a glass of water, but mostly coffee.
 

What has been your favourite project at Wunderkraut and why? 

Organising the first x-mas event (family event) for our colleagues and their partners and children, buying gifts for the children and looking at their faces when they received it. Afterwards, getting a thank you from the parents that the gift I chose was the right gift and even sometimes after a year still hearing how much they play with that gift. Seeing my colleagues and their partners enjoying themselves at such an event is great!
(Note! organising events is not what my dream is ;-), but this is a project (one of the events that I can think of).
 

***BONUS Questions*** Tell us something about yourself that would surprise us.

I used to ride a Harley Davidson "Nightster" 1200 cc. I was also a co-editor of the club's magazine.  At the yearly event, where people would attend from all over the world, you could join by either riding the trip yourself or by being at a post to stamp the road book. One year, me and my girlfriend chose to be at a post and we got dressed up as "Bunny's" (read hot bunny's, not the furry bunny's). Our goal was to wake up the riders at 5am and we succeeded at it!

Kwiet
Veronique
Veronique profile